A better server bot

so i am a programmer lets get that out of the way. i know that there is already a server bot out there but the issue with that one is that it requires someone to leave their computer on 24/7.

i was thinking of trying to host a free service that is open source and does everything that bot can do but without the 24/7 computer issue.
i would like to know if anyone would be interested in such a service?

3 Likes

I would definitely be interested in a service like that! :smile:

3 Likes

While such a service is technically feasible, it isn’t realistic. There is no api for granting an application access to an owner portal. This means that any bot must have access to your login and is able to change your password. It also has access to every server you own, not just the one the owner intended to give access to.

This means that the bot owner must be trusted implicitly by any users… which is a position ripe for abuse. When I asked about building this, I was (quite reasonably!) told that such a tool could not be advertised on the forum.

Mac servers are a different story - the host there is already trusted implicitly to run the world & users don’t have to give access to all worlds they paid for. Wingysam built a bot which is always on for his Mac servers.

1 Like

Yes I guess these concerns are something to worry about. I know trust could never fully be obtained by the person who owns the server. However if an API was made that gave the bot access to one server. I feel this would be great solution for server bots. I suppose that’s what’s so nice about it being open source someone could download the code and run lt on heroku the owner would then have full control over the bot and what servers it has access to. I have already run such a bot on heroku for a month now and it is still going strong.