A Couple of Builds, Hi

building

Hello, forum folk! It’s been about a year since I was active on here. It’s also been about a year since I did multiplayer—I’ve only recently gotten back to visiting the occasional server. However! I’ve still been doing things on my single player worlds, including a few buildings projects (and a failed pixel art).

I’m a very slow builder. Some of the more prolific builders just seem to have non-stop inspiration, and an ambition to match. I, on the other hand, like to give myself these “creative rests” that last for a couple of months or more. So it came as no small surprise when I placed the final blocks on a couple of projects this past year! As sort of a “hey I’m still alive hope u are too”, I thought I’d share them.

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon

I think I finished this one during the summer. It’s the largest structure I’ve produced, but that’s probably because there’s so much empty space.

I found a bunch of pictures of Babylonian architecture for inspiration. What I ended up with…doesn’t do them justice, but they made the whole process more interesting.

I wanted this entire build to be covered in vines. You can see I even planted them before I realized it wouldn’t work with water below. I might change things around at some point to make vines possible, but for now, I’m ok with the uncluttered look.

I think this build is a bit disjointed in some places. That’s actually one of the biggest flaws in all my builds; there’s not enough continuity. However, it’s just as important that the zoomed-out version has a pleasant appearance, so a little give-and-take is ok. I actually got that tip directly from Thuthu when I was starting the Gardens!

The Eternity Cavern

This build was finished just last week, but I’d been planning it since the release of the 1.7 update. I wanted to showcase the gem blocks, so you’ll see at least a little of each type.