An old fogey recalls the (good) ol' days

When I realized I just passed the 2000th post mark, I started thinking…and as one of the oldest members here I looked back at what a journey it’s been. If you don’t care, then stop reading now cuz I’m about to wax nostalgic on y’all.

I started playing the game with 1.0.1. I got all the benches and explored my little single player world (which is still my main SP world). I traveled all the way around and made a little castle. Then I put the game aside for a few months. I checked out the new features in 1.1 and 1.2 but what really got me stoked and into the game again was the multiplayer release. Blockserver.net started up with some trial servers which were free at the time, so numerous players created them. I joined this little server called William. I think the owner must have been 8 or 9 because he was a capricious little twerp that would randomly admin/unadmin whoever he felt like. A group of players build a hub of bases, but we kept getting griefed, so the whole group would cross the next ocean and build there. Then we’d get griefed again and move again. It was rather funny.